Chocolate Tour of Chicago

Your rating
150 Review(s)

Availability: In stock

$50
  • Duration

    - 2 hours (approx.)
  • Magnificent Mile

  • Capacity

    - 20 persons per guide
  • All food is included
  • Dress

    - It's a walking tour, so dress comfortably!
  • Departs


    In front of the Wrigley Building Saturday & Sunday @ 3pm
  • Meeting Location


    The Wrigley Building, 400 N Michigan Avenue, Chicago 60611
  • Final Destination


    More Cupcakes, 1 E Delaware Pl

Customer Reviews

Items 141 to 150 of 150 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 11
  4. 12
  5. 13
  6. 14
  7. 15
Agree with other reviews
By Alli on August 25, 2013
I agree with the previous reviewers. Isis was great and we also skipped Godiva. Don't know why and had I known it was on the list posted, I would have asked her about it today (I was a guest of a friend so I hadn't looked at the online menu ahead of time). Regardless- very fun and definitely a great groupon deal. My friend also said it was better, cheaper and went to more places than another chocolate tour she had taken with another company.
The least informative and least substantial food "tour" I've ever participated in Chicago
By Maroon on August 19, 2013
Disappointed in the tour as the guide, Jeffrey (who never introduced himself to us) made no effort to explain about the neighborhoods despite the nice areas around Chicago we get to walk to nor did he give preliminary background of each places before we enter the stores: the tour guide's only function in this tour is to walk in front of the group and herd participants from places to places, some of which provided small samples sizes that could've been given to any storefront passer-by for free. I felt really awkward as he asked for tips at the end as I usually made it a point to tip hardworking service providers 20% but felt this is one of those times where I am deeply disappointed with the quality of the service and find myself walking away with no gratuities or even saying goodbye as I honestly felt there was absolutely nothing he does that added value to the experience and small (generic & questionably ingenuine) talk saying "you guys are awesome" or "you guys are great" are certainly not what we look for. Maybe the group was too big but he didn't even try and how can a food tour operator be so greedy to accept a group size that big. This could be the result of bad management or lack of training and not actually the tour guide's fault. Having helped marketed a popular chocolate brand and taken many other different food tours around Chicago & different cities + actively a part of the Chicago's tourism scene and the food tour industry myself, this is very insulting to the tour industry and not worth the time and money even though I bought this tour through discounted deal (Amazon local $19). I hope this tour will improve and have more substance in the future. I hate to be unsupportive of small businesses but hope that this review will serve to improve this particular player in this industry.
Chocolate tour of Chicago
By Judy Diamond on August 17, 2013
Not worth the money. Guide was not very attentive and walked too fast for too large a group.
Only 6 stops, not 7...
By Shannon on August 12, 2013
The tour was enjoyable, however don't expect any content or history. Our guide even started by saying "I'm not giving you information or history of... I'm just showing you places to go to get neat chocolate". Yes, some samples were very small but other like Goddess were extremely generous. Apparently Godiva is no longer part of the tour, however it is still included in the add.... Worth it for $20, definitely not for $50.
Great Tour
By Christopher Seals on July 20, 2013
We enjoyed our tour with Isis... she was a great guide and extremely pleasant and fun. She dealt with a "know-it-all" complainer that tried to take over the tour with grace and humor. It was one of the hottest days of the year and she made it very fun and was extremely approachable. The chocolatiers were very gracious and accommodating. And the treats they provided were amazing!!!
Unacceptable-not tourist friendly
By Ronda Lyons on July 19, 2013
We purchased a Chicago Chocolate tour on groupon. We have tried for 2 days to contact them and schedule an appointment for the tour. We even went to the site where they are to meet and no on was there. So, we have paid for 2 tickets now, and it looks as though we will not get to use them. There is also no way to book online without paying for them (which we have already done!)
Good for discount price
By Nancy on July 14, 2013
I enjoyed the varied selections on the tour. Some of the samples were quite small but others were very generous like Goddess. I also liked that we were offered to have any extras that were left. However, our guide skipped Godiva (don't know why) and it would have been helpful to have a list (and information) on each tour stop printed for our reference. Good for the $20 amazon local price but wouldn't have thought so if I paid $50.
By Maggie Rowe on June 17, 2013
My husband and I had paid for two chocolate tours of Chicago on Friday, June 14th. A total of 17 in our group waited for nearly 45 minutes for a guide who never showed up. After repeated calls to Great Food Tours, we were finally told that our guide was in the hospital but that no other guide was available. This is inexcusable, as no one in our group was called or emailed that the tour was cancelled. Do NOT book with this company!!!
By Maggie Rowe on June 17, 2013
My husband and I had paid for two chocolate tours of Chicago on Friday, June 14th. A total of 17 in our group waited for nearly 45 minutes for a guide who never showed up. After repeated calls to Great Food Tours, we were finally told that our guide was in the hospital but that no other guide was available. This is inexcusable, as no one in our group was called or emailed that the tour was cancelled. Do NOT book with this company!!!
New
By Kevin on May 29, 2013
New

Items 141 to 150 of 150 total

per page
Page:
  1. 1
  2. ...
  3. 11
  4. 12
  5. 13
  6. 14
  7. 15

Landmarks and Attractions

  • Chicago Architecture
  • Chocolatiers & Patisseries
  • History of Chocolate
  • Chicago River

Chocolate Tour of Chicago | Chicago Tours | Best Tours

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In